Pistolsmith

Go Back   Pistolsmith > Gun Forum > Gun Tests


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2002, 07:56 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,580
Handgun Review: Glock 23



Overall: 4.5/5
Reliability: 5/5
Accuracy: 3.5/5
Durability: 5/5
Rust Resistance: 5/5
Ergonomics: 4/5
Trigger Pull: 3.5/5

This is a review of the Glock 23. It is Glock's compact model chambered in .40S&W. I sold mine a while ago, which I soon came to regret because it took me a year to get another pistol that was as good.

First and foremost, this pistol was utterly reliable. I must have fired over 1,000 rounds through it without any kind of malfunction. It fed every kind of bullet, every time. It would work even when absolutely filthy. After about a year of abuse it had no visible wear or damage of any kind. It was durable and reliable in the extreme.

It also had the best subjective "feel" and balance of any Glock pistol I have handled. Although it was designed around a 13 round magazine capacity, it has a very reasonable grip thickness and anyone with normal sized hands should have no trouble handling it comfortably. Accuracy was also quite good, especially for a compact pistol. The only real criticism I can level at the Glock 23 is its trigger; it was rather heavy and would in fact make my finger sore after extended firing. Over time, the trigger feel improved to the point where it was quite good, but was never anything to write home about. Recoil was also quite substantial, which is to be expected when firing a fairly powerful cartridge from a light, compact handgun.

With this particular gun, I seemed to get the best accuracy results from the Remington Golden Saber 165gr JHP, although it also performed well with virtually everything I could stuff in the magazine. Cor-Bon 165gr JHP, Federal Hydra-Shok 155gr JHP, Speer Gold Dot 165gr JHP and Winchester Silvertip 155gr JHP all performed well in this pistol and are also recommended.

If you are looking for a compact, powerful pistol and are not adverse to recoil then the Glock 23 would be an excellent choice.
 
Remove Ads
Old 10-17-2002, 08:18 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,580
Comments: I wrote this review a long time ago, and it kind of shows. That Glock 23 WAS one hell of a gun, though. I was out in the Arizona desert when I did most of the shooting with it, and treated the gun like crap... lots of cheap ammo, lots of dust & dirt, only intermittent cleanings and it ran and ran and ran.
 
Old 12-17-2003, 09:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 35
I am a big fan of Glocks. I have a G23 that I replaced the barrel in and now shoot .357 Sig out of it. The wife likes that better than the 40 as she says that it doesn't recoil as much. IMHO Glocks are one of the best self defense/duty pistols invented. One of the guys on our SWAT Team has fired over 5000 rounds out of his G23 without cleaning it as a "torture test", it is still running. I admonished him and told him not to treat a pistol like that but he continues to shoot it trouble free. To me that is dependability.
 
Old 12-20-2003, 02:28 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 68
It is easy and cheap to make the trigger better. My G23 trigger is close to the 2lb triggers I set up on my 1911s.

Over 20K thru it and not one malfunction--amazing!!!
 
Old 12-21-2003, 02:56 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maurepas, LA
Posts: 571
"One of the guys on our SWAT Team has fired over 5000 rounds out of his G23 without cleaning it as a "torture test"



I hate to say it, but the SWAT member should be suspended. His "test" could cost his life or his team mate's.

The Glock is a dependable weapon. I have a 22 and a 24, both shoot everytime and are reasonably accurate. They are just a tool. I have no attachment to them like my 1911's. I have many firearms and if I ever had to sell....Glocks would be first to go, Sig's second.

Glocks are like a scooter and 1911's are like a "Harley", both will get you there, but the Harley becomes a friend.

Buddy
 
Old 03-31-2004, 05:45 AM   #6
Mas
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 72
Duck: I'd be interested to hear how you do your trigger jobs.
 
Old 04-01-2004, 11:55 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 68
I polished thru the plating to get really smooth surfaces. Install a lighter striker spring and a heavier trigger spring. Polish the cruciform sear (do not change the angle or round the sharp upper edge), under the cruciform where it contacts the connector, the connector, the firing pin safety (clip off 2 coils of the firing pin safety spring) and polish the trigger bar where it contacts the firing pin safety, polish the part of the cruciform that is the drop safety. Grind the striker arm on the left side at a 45 degree angle and polish the striker where it contacts the cruciform sear. Polish the striker at the back flats and in the front where it will make contact with the channel liner.

See:
http://www.sportshooter.com/gssf/dalerhea_dremeling.htm

Scroll to Trigger Group then Modifying the Srtiker.
 
Old 04-21-2004, 08:57 AM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I appreciate the report but I do not consider the G23 a compact pistol. What do I consider it and it's brother the G19? I look at this pair as the most size efficient service pistols made in 40 S&W and 9mm made. If I were young and in the military I would have qualms carrying a G19. Regards, Richard
 
Old 04-21-2004, 09:47 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,580
Quote:
I appreciate the report but I do not consider the G23 a compact pistol.
Glock does. :P
 
Closed Thread

  Pistolsmith > Gun Forum > Gun Tests


Search tags for this page
glock 23 accuracy
,
glock 23 accuracy test
,
glock 23 durability test
,

glock 23 review

,

glock 23 reviews

,
glock 23 test
,
glock 23 torture test
,
glock g23 review
,
glock model 23 reviews

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handgun Review; Browning BDM Jim Richardson Gun Tests 10 05-01-2014 07:34 PM
Handgun Review: Glock 20C Sean Smith Gun Tests 5 01-18-2004 10:42 AM
Handgun Review: CZ 75 P01 euclid Gun Tests 9 05-13-2003 09:15 AM
Handgun Review; SiG 230 Jim Richardson Gun Tests 3 02-28-2003 05:47 AM
Handgun Review: CZ-75B 9x19 Sean Smith Gun Tests 7 02-12-2003 05:51 AM

Top Gun Sites Top Sites List


Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 1999-2012 Pistolsmith. All rights reserved.