Pistolsmith

Go Back   Pistolsmith > Gun Forum > Gun Tests


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2002, 08:59 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,580
Handgun Review: SigSauer P228 9x19mm



Overall: 4/5
Reliability: 5/5
Accuracy: 3.5/5
Durability: 4/5
Rust Resistance: 3/5
Ergonomics: 4/5
Trigger Pull: 3.5/5

This is a review of the Sig Sauer P228. It is a compact double-action 9mm pistol with an aluminum frame and steel slide. I owned one for about 6 months before selling it.

By far this pistol's best trait was its sheer reliability. I purchased it used...heavily used. I fired hundreds of rounds of assorted ammunition through the gun, and it always worked flawlessly. Its accuracy was quite good in spite of visible wear in the barrel, and became outstanding with the addition of a Bar-Sto replacement barrel. Recoil was extremely light even with +P ammunition. In spite of being obviously abused before I even got it, the P228 was still extremely "tight" and smooth-functioning. It also has fairly thin grips, in spite of being designed with a 13-round capacity. However, it was a bit prone to rust where the finish was worn.

My only other criticism of the pistol is its trigger. Fired double-action, the trigger was entirely too heavy for my taste, making it difficult to shoot the pistol accurately. In single-action, the trigger was much better, but still a bit on the heavy side.

Although it functioned very well with all types of ammo, it seemed to have the best accuracy with Federal Hydra-Shok 124gr +P JHP. Pro Load 124gr +P JHP and Speer Gold Dot 124gr +P JHP were also accurate, reliable and low-flash loads in this pistol.

The Sig Sauer P228 was an excellent pistol that I can recommend without reservations to anyone looking for a compact, accurate, and reliable double-action 9mm.
 
Remove Ads
Old 10-17-2002, 09:10 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,580
Comments: I wrote this review a while ago, and looking back would probably rate the P228's ergonomics a smidge lower, as P-series SigSauers have a kind of funky feel to me. But the functionality of the thing could not be denied, it ran great even when filthy & loaded with the cheapest crap ammo you could find. I really abused the sucker and it kept on ticking, but for some reason never did suit me.
 
Old 10-19-2002, 04:37 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Va
Posts: 663
The 228 is my all time favorite. Fits my hand like someone poured it into my first. Next to a 1911 it is what I carry the most now.
 
Old 10-19-2002, 07:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,371
Hello, ya'll. Do you like/dislike/ or are indifferent to the P225? Just wondering?

Best and thanks in advance.
 
Old 10-20-2002, 04:24 AM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Have a 225 also. I happen to like SIGS(have 220,225,228,229,230). The 225 is basically the same top end as the 228, just a little thinner single column frame. While I prefer the 228(because of how it fits my hands) I think the 225 is as good.
 
Old 10-20-2002, 04:29 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Va
Posts: 663
I sure don't know what happened to that post. Posted me as a guest. Hey Dane, does this mean dinner and a cigar?

Have a 225 also. I happen to like SIGS(have 220,225,228,229,230). The 225 is basically the same top end as the 228, just a little thinner single column frame. While I prefer the 228(because of how it fits my hands) I think the 225 is as good.
 
Old 10-20-2002, 04:48 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Texas!!!!
Posts: 827
Stephen

A friend of mine describes his 225 as, "It's like pulling Excalibur from the Stone".
 
Old 01-19-2003, 08:54 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6
HELLO! IAM NEW TO THIS FORUM AND EVERYBODY HERE SEEMS TO HAVE GOOD COMMON SINCE SO I LIKE IT! NOT A BIG FAN OF 9MM BUT I LOVE MY 228, ITS THE ONLY 9MM I OWN. IN MY OPINION SIG ARMS IS THE BEST SA/DA AVAILABLE AND I HAVE OWNED THEM ALL AT ONE TIME OR ANOTHER. I HAD A BAD TRADEING HABBIT BUT IAM RECOVERING WITH THE AID OF A LITTLE THERAPY <-- JOKE! :lol:
 
Old 01-20-2003, 05:43 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAPA-C
HELLO! IAM NEW TO THIS FORUM AND EVERYBODY HERE SEEMS TO HAVE GOOD COMMON SINCE SO I LIKE IT! NOT A BIG FAN OF 9MM BUT I LOVE MY 228, ITS THE ONLY 9MM I OWN. IN MY OPINION SIG ARMS IS THE BEST SA/DA AVAILABLE AND I HAVE OWNED THEM ALL AT ONE TIME OR ANOTHER. I HAD A BAD TRADEING HABBIT BUT IAM RECOVERING WITH THE AID OF A LITTLE THERAPY <-- JOKE! :lol:
Thanks but please DON'T POST HERE IN ALL CAPITAL LETTERS.
 
Old 01-20-2003, 05:13 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6
woooops! sorry, I did not know. I guess I should go ahead and apologize for all those other posts that were in capital letters as well. :roll:
 
Reply

  Pistolsmith > Gun Forum > Gun Tests


Search tags for this page
p228 review
,
sig 228 review
,
sig 228 reviews
,
sig p228 9mm review
,

sig p228 review

,

sig sauer p228

,
sig sauer p228 9mm
,

sig sauer p228 review

,
sig sauer p228 reviews

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handgun Review: Glock 23 Sean Smith Gun Tests 8 04-21-2004 10:47 AM
Handgun Review: Glock 20C Sean Smith Gun Tests 5 01-18-2004 11:42 AM
Handgun Review: CZ 75 P01 euclid Gun Tests 9 05-13-2003 10:15 AM
Handgun Review; SiG 230 Jim Richardson Gun Tests 3 02-28-2003 06:47 AM
Handgun Review: CZ-75B 9x19 Sean Smith Gun Tests 7 02-12-2003 06:51 AM

Top Gun Sites Top Sites List


Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 1999-2012 Pistolsmith. All rights reserved.