Pistolsmith

Go Back   Pistolsmith > Gun Forum > Gun Tests


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2002, 05:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Texas!!!!
Posts: 827
Handgun Review: STAR UltraStar

As most of you know I really love my STAR UltraStar and think it's about the best 9mm ever made. I just finished doing a comparison of my UltraStar, my SiGPro 2009 and my HS2K. I thought some of you might enjoy seeing the comparison.

First, what is common to all of them?
  • all have Polymer Frames [/*:m:j5jxkk22]
  • similar grip angles [/*:m:j5jxkk22]
  • all are 9mm [/*:m:j5jxkk22]
  • absolutely reliable [/*:m:j5jxkk22]
  • more accurate than I am [/*:m:j5jxkk22]
  • good looking (purely subjective and YMMV) [/*:m:j5jxkk22]

What is different?
  • The STAR is the smallest of the three [/*:m:j5jxkk22]
  • SiGPro and HS2K are almost exactly the same size [/*:m:j5jxkk22]
  • each has a different manual of arms [/*:m:j5jxkk22]
  • takedown procedures are different [/*:m:j5jxkk22]
  • the weights are slightly different, SiGPro = 28 oz, STAR = 27oz & HS2000 = 23 oz[/*:m:j5jxkk22]

The review.

All of the pistols shoot well and so far have been absolutely reliable. I'd trust anyone of them at any time. The standard magazine for the HS2K and the SiGPro are ten rounds staggered stack. The STAR is a 9 round single stack.

Here is my HS2K and a SiGPro.


The STAR and a SiGPro.


And my STAR on top of my HS2K.


One thing that needs to be considered when talking about second shots and return to POA is bore axis. Of the three, the STAR has the lowest , the HS2K is about half the barrel diameter higher and the SiGPro slightly over 1/2 diameter.

STAR vs. HS2K.


STAR vs. SiGPro.


Of the three, the STAR has the easiest takedown. There is a small pin that gets pushed out right to left. Then the slide simply is slipped off. In this picture it is the small indented pin over the trigger area.


The HS2K has a lever that is raised to disassemble. Still relatively easy but not as nice as on the STAR. In this photo you can see the lever right above the front trigger guard. There is a cut out near the muzzle that allows the lever to pivot up.


The SiGPro is a bitch to take down. There is no lock back as on the STAR or HS2K to help position it. Instead you hold the slide back while pushing the slide lock lever out from right to left. Again, on reassembly you have to hold the slide manually and get everything aligned. It's not too bad but it certainly isn't up to the standards of either the HS2K or the STAR. In this picture you can see the long slide lock lever on the left side of the 2009 (on the top).


The STAR and the HS2K are almost the same width. Since the STAR is a single stack mag that might seem surprising, but the difference is obvious when you look in the magwell. The STAR has a large metal insert and really big cross members so that it doesn’t feel like a polymer pistol at all. I've had several people shoot mine and to be surprised, almost indignant afterwards when I tell them it's a polymer frame pistol.



So there are three polymer-framed pistols. I would rank the STAR as by far the best of the three, then the HS2K and the SiGPro as last. They are all fine pistols, but the STAR just seems to outshine the others. Since it is also by far the least expensive it should be on everyone’s shortlist. The most expensive is the SIGPro, but again, it simply is not as nice as either the HS2K or the UltraStar.
 
Remove Ads
Old 10-19-2002, 06:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,371
Hello. Very interesting and well-written report. Thank you.

Best.
 
Old 02-15-2005, 07:29 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 25
Stars in are very good guns. We have several, different models and they're all generally very well made.
 
Old 02-22-2005, 06:14 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Nice review-

Many years ago I had a Star Model 28 9mm. It was very well designed and an excellent shooter. Someone stole the gun. Their products are well thought out.
 
Old 03-21-2005, 12:50 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Jim Richardson, what kind of holster do you use for it? I am getting a Ultrastar on Thursday. Also What type of ammo does it like? My favorite 9mm load is the CorBon 115+P.
Thanks for any advice, it is highly appreciated. This is the first gun I've owned in 2 years, money problems caused me to sell my whole collection (which was pretty nice for a guy my age). This Star is 200. used. In the past I had considered getting one of these, a Firestar .45, and Firestar plus 9mm, but each time went with the higher dollar pistol.
Thanks
 
Old 03-02-2006, 05:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Next door to Mars
Posts: 46
I Agree..............

Just this past week end, I loaded up five 9mm machines
to go for an afternoon of R & R at my local range.

Sig P229, HS2K, XDService 9mm, XDSC9mm, and
the Star UltraStar.

I said R & R, when in total count of rounds downrange,
it numbered over 600 for an afternoon.

When all was said and done, by the way, I had the range
to myself, the UltraStar was the 'star' of the show. The
Star had less perceived recoil, came back on target much
faster and generally gave me the best feeling when I
launched a round downrange. It is the least expensive of
the bunch, but only by a few bucks, as I got the HS2K for
$278 shipped when INTRAC was the importer/distributor.

The XDs of course ran around the $400 mark and the Sig,
well it cost the mostest.

Give that Star a 'star'.

Ed
 
Old 08-26-2008, 05:59 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Re: Handgun Review: STAR UltraStar

I am very, VERY fond of Star pistols, but the Ultrastar was an unfortunate lapse in Bonifacio Echeverria's sensibility.

If you had compared the Ultrastar to some useful gun, its shortcomings would have been manifest.

Just my 2 pesos.

M

P.S. I have two of them. They are nice shooters, but strictly recreational.
 
Old 08-27-2008, 06:15 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Next door to Mars
Posts: 46
Re: Handgun Review: STAR UltraStar

I thought I did compare with a few exceptional modern day
machines, such as Sig P229, HS2K, XDService 9mm, XDSC9mm!

I still give the Star UltaStar a four out of five.

Ed
 
Old 08-29-2008, 07:27 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Texas!!!!
Posts: 827
Re: Handgun Review: STAR UltraStar

I still think the UltraStar is one of my favorite 9s and absolutely my favorite poly of any make.

I am still amazed at how substantial it feels compared to other poly framed guns.
 
Old 05-14-2009, 08:55 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Next door to Mars
Posts: 46
Re: Handgun Review: STAR UltraStar

Years later and my opinion still stands. The UltraStar is still an
amazing machine.

Ed
 
Reply

  Pistolsmith > Gun Forum > Gun Tests


Search tags for this page
interarms ultrastar 9mm
,

star 9mm

,
star 9mm reviews
,

star ultrastar

,

star ultrastar 9mm

,
star ultrastar 9mm review
,
ultra star 9mm
,

ultrastar 9mm

,
ultrastar pistol

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handgun Review; Browning BDM Jim Richardson Gun Tests 10 05-01-2014 07:34 PM
Handgun Review: Glock 23 Sean Smith Gun Tests 8 04-21-2004 09:47 AM
Handgun Review: CZ 75 P01 euclid Gun Tests 9 05-13-2003 09:15 AM
Handgun Review; SiG 230 Jim Richardson Gun Tests 3 02-28-2003 05:47 AM
Handgun Review: CZ-75B 9x19 Sean Smith Gun Tests 7 02-12-2003 05:51 AM

Top Gun Sites Top Sites List


Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 1999-2012 Pistolsmith. All rights reserved.