Pistolsmith

Pistolsmith (http://pistolsmith.com/forums.php)
-   Glock Pistols (http://pistolsmith.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Expert Opinion: glock 17 G4 or CZ sp01 Shadow (http://pistolsmith.com/showthread.php?t=23448)

Dan G. 11-21-2012 09:48 PM

Expert Opinion: glock 17 G4 or CZ sp01 Shadow
 
Greetings!

This is my first post soliciting for expert opinions as to what I'm gonna buy, Glock 17 Gen 4 or CZ 75 SP01 Shadow?

I currently have a Para Ord P14-45 Ltd, and my son who has shown keen interest in IPSC,seemed to find the P14 bit heavy and bigger grip.

I have shot both pistols and personally find the CZ to be more manageable and kind of accurate.However, maybe not trusting my own impression of the 2 guns, opinions from the experts in this forum could help me come up with a better decision (hopefully though, might not confuse me further:))

Thank you and more power to all!

danf_fl 11-23-2012 04:07 AM

Okay, let me see if I understand this.
You own one 1911, your son thinks the trigger is too heavy and the grip too big (but you don't state your opinion of it).
You want a pistol that is not setup like a 1911, so your muscle memory has to change.

I would recommend a Springfield Armory Range Officer. Single stack = smaller grip than the Para, it has decent sights, any gunsmith worth their salt can work on it, extra accessories are available to customize it to be "your" pistol, more holster options available than the CZ, and your muscle memory does not need to change.

Dan G. 11-25-2012 05:57 AM

Hi Danf_fl,

Thanks for the reply. Sorry for not being very clear :), the P14-45 is what I'm currently using (and happy with it). I am actually looking for a good pistol for my son to use in IPSC. Last Saturday, my son got to try the Glock 17 Gen 4 and he doesn't like it; trigger pull and the recoil. This is maybe because he got used to the P14-45. His only complain on the P14-45 is its large grip. Taking off from your reply (on muscle memory), since my son have been practicing using the P14-45, maybe I should not veer away from the 1911 format.

Thanks and more power...

Scottly 11-25-2012 09:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan G. (Post 143446)
my son got to try the Glock 17 Gen 4 and he doesn't like it; trigger pull and the recoil.

The staple gun trigger pull I can understand...but it's a 9mm, so recoil issues? Not sure I understand that.

Dan G. 11-26-2012 06:07 AM

yes sir, the recoil of the Glock 17 was quite "strong" for my son and coupled with the long trigger pull his second shots were almost always "misses". Physically, my son is quite thin and his grip maybe isn't strong enough to handle the Glock recoil (even if is a 9mm).

Scottly 11-26-2012 04:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan G. (Post 143454)
yes sir, the recoil of the Glock 17 was quite "strong" for my son

Well...this is just an opinion...I'm not sure what would have less recoil than a 9mm G17. They are very tame.

You said the 1911 platform may work...maybe a bull barrel 9mm? That would keep the nose down, and you can run it in Unlimited in USPSA.

Just a thought.

retDAC 11-26-2012 09:03 PM

You must have strong grip, Scottly. I don't so I have to work to make a Glock hit well. Mainly due to the overtravel.

Scottly 11-27-2012 05:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by retDAC (Post 143458)
You must have strong grip, Scottly. I don't so I have to work to make a Glock hit well. Mainly due to the overtravel.

Not sure what a strong grip has to do with the discussion of recoil and trigger over-travel. I owned a G17 and found it to be very tame in it's recoil characteristics, compared to the G23 I owned, or the 1911's I currently shoot.

The grip angle on the Glocks is not to my liking, nor is the mushy triggers. If over-travel is that big of an issue, may I suggest this:

Lone Wolf Distributors - Product Detail - LWD Ultimate Trigger Stop 9 - $19.95



Just my $.02

danf_fl 11-28-2012 04:53 AM

Have you looked at the .38Super on a 1911 platform with compensator?

You have the added capacity, lower recoil, Major Power factor, muscle memory, and trigger overtravel adjustment.

retDAC 11-29-2012 09:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scottly (Post 143462)
Not sure what a strong grip has to do with the discussion of recoil and trigger over-travel. I owned a G17 and found it to be very tame in it's recoil characteristics, compared to the G23 I owned, or the 1911's I currently shoot.

The grip angle on the Glocks is not to my liking, nor is the mushy triggers. If over-travel is that big of an issue, may I suggest this:

Lone Wolf Distributors - Product Detail - LWD Ultimate Trigger Stop 9 - $19.95

Properly trained men with at least average strength hands often don't notice for others how much the overtravel can throw off an otherwise well aimed shot and especially fast repeat shots. As to recoil, that can be an issue for some too. Not that G17 recoil hurts a normal healthy pair of hands regardless of strength. Just does take a lot more work for some.

Thanks for the link. I need to look in to that.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 1999-2012 Pistolsmith. All rights reserved.